How to lock a Fiveable Room

Updated 6 days ago by Kyleigh Hyde

Make your room extra secure and prevent others from joining unless you grant them access with the lock feature.

What is the lock feature?

🔐 The lock feature is located to the left of the solo mode button (👤). When creating a Fiveable session, the lock will default to open; allowing anyone to join. The host of the session is the only person that can change the privacy settings of their session.

🔒 If the host chooses to lock the session, it can only be joined by those who have the new invite link. When a session is locked, a new invite link is created and can be copied and sent to others. If someone tries to enter a locked session, they will be directed to a 404 page due to the link being changed by the host. In order to enter a locked session, you must have the new link or you will have to wait until the session is unlocked/opened by the host.

🔐 On the Fiveable Dashboard, current sessions that are locked will have a lock icon (indicating that the session is locked). Open sessions, on the Fiveable Dashboard, will not have a lock icon.

How to use the lock feature?

🔑 To change the privacy settings of your session, click the lock. You can choose to lock your session or keep it open. If you choose to lock your session, two more symbols appear. The symbol on the left says copy invite link. Send your invite link to others so they can join your session. The other symbol says refresh invite link. Every time you refresh/change your invite link, the session URL will change. Meaning, you will need to re-share the URL of your session with your friends.

Still not sure how to lock and unlock your session? Watch this quick video:

FAQ

If I lock my session and there are people in it, will they be kicked out?

No, they will not be kicked out. However, if they want to leave your session and come back later they will need the new link autogenerated when you locked the room. If they do not have this new link they will not be able to join your room again when it is locked.

For more information on our Study Rooms, check out other articles from our helpdesk here.
Not finding the answer you're looking for? Shoot us an email 📨 or join our Student Discord community for additional help. 💭


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)